Edenderry Union

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Edenderry Union

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1839 - 1925


Edenderry’s Poor Law Union was formed on the 7th of May in 1839. The Union was controlled by twenty-two elected Board of Guardians, as well as seven ex-officio Guardians, who all met weekly. It covered an area of 290 square miles, representing seventeen electoral divisions from three different counties: from Offaly (King’s) – Ballinakill, Ballyburly, Ballymacwilliam, Clonmore, Clonsast, Croghan and Edenderry. From County Kildare – Ardkill, Ballynadrimna, Cadamstown, Carbury, Cloncurry, Mylerstown, Rathangan, and from County Meath – Ballyboggan, Castlejordan, Clonard. The Union was abolished in 1925, with the Board of Guardians powers being transferred to the county councils' Board of Health.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Poor Law Unions were responsible for the provision and management of local workhouses, as well as duties relating to dispensaries, sewers, prevention of diseases, burial grounds, registration of births, marriages and deaths, and public health.

Mandates/sources of authority

Poor Relief (Ireland) Act, 1838

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Related entity

Edenderry Poor Law Union Industrial and Agricultural Society

Identifier of related entity

Category of relationship


Dates of relationship

Description of relationship

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

August 2019, Erin Sears




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places