Edenderry Union

Zone d'identification

Type d'entité


Forme autorisée du nom

Edenderry Union

forme(s) parallèle(s) du nom

Forme(s) du nom normalisée(s) selon d'autres conventions

Autre(s) forme(s) du nom

Numéro d'immatriculation des collectivités

Zone de description

Dates d’existence

1839 - 1925


Edenderry’s Poor Law Union was formed on the 7th of May in 1839. The Union was controlled by twenty-two elected Board of Guardians, as well as seven ex-officio Guardians, who all met weekly. It covered an area of 290 square miles, representing seventeen electoral divisions from three different counties: from Offaly (King’s) – Ballinakill, Ballyburly, Ballymacwilliam, Clonmore, Clonsast, Croghan and Edenderry. From County Kildare – Ardkill, Ballynadrimna, Cadamstown, Carbury, Cloncurry, Mylerstown, Rathangan, and from County Meath – Ballyboggan, Castlejordan, Clonard. The Union was abolished in 1925, with the Board of Guardians powers being transferred to the county councils' Board of Health.


Statut légal

Fonctions et activités

Poor Law Unions were responsible for the provision and management of local workhouses, as well as duties relating to dispensaries, sewers, prevention of diseases, burial grounds, registration of births, marriages and deaths, and public health.

Textes de référence

Poor Relief (Ireland) Act, 1838

Organisation interne/Généalogie

Contexte général

Zone des relations

Entité associée

Edenderry Poor Law Union Industrial and Agricultural Society

Identifier of related entity

Type de relation


Dates de la relation

Description de la relation

Zone des points d'accès

Mots-clés - Sujets

Mots-clés - Lieux


Zone du contrôle

Identifiant de notice d'autorité

Identifiant du service d'archives

Règles et/ou conventions utilisées


Niveau de détail

Dates de production, de révision et de suppression

August 2019, Erin Sears




Notes de maintenance

  • Presse-papier

  • Exporter

  • EAC

Sujets associés

Lieux associés